BLOND

frank-ocean-blond-2016-billboard-1548.jpg

Late as always, I finally listened to Frank Ocean’s new album “blond” and I see why people like it. There’s a rich earnestness that Frank captures in his voice when he sings. I heard it in Channel Orange whenever he spoke of  Channel Orange.

The technical arrangement of “blond” is very appealing. Unlike Channel Orange, it is not only Frank’s voice with some bending effects. There are other voices and strong instrumentation like he’s had a change of producer.

Anyway I don’t connect with all of the songs as of yet, probably because I haven’t taken the time to fully absorb the album. However, my favourite songs by far are definitely: Nikes (which I know everyone loves) and Godspeed.

Godspeed to me sounds like a play on Kanye’s Ultralight Beam on TLOP. But more pure and solo. The first few vocals really get to me.

Wishing you Godspeed, glory, there will be mountains you won’t move.

It’s short and sweet but the gospel vibe is magical and I’m a sucker for that.

Not sure whether it was an interlude but I really loved “Be Yourself.” It resonated with my inner being on a higher frequency.

Be yourself and know that that’s good enough. Don’t try to be like someone else, don’t try to act like someone else. Be yourself, be secure in yourself, rely and trust upon your own decisions, on your own beliefs.

The follow-up to that statement was, ironically, music to my ears.

When people become weed-heads they become sluggish, stupid, lazy and unconcerned. Do not consume alcohol. Do not smoke marijuana.

That made me chuckle slightly but yeah, it was a nice consolidation to a few of my internal beliefs. I’ve never liked the idea of taking any substances that change the functioning of my body – whether recreational or medicinal – so I fully approve of that sentiment. I did however think that was an interesting line considering Frank Ocean’s target audience is so vastly teenage and young adult – a demographic known for dabbling in drug activity. So I feel the inclusion of the song on the album is even more emphatic and deliberate. But I like the fact it’s not a song otherwise it comes across preachy – particularly since Frank himself is not singing it but rather a mother is saying it. It could also be a representation of the juvenile’s experience which if so, makes it even greater. It’s not all about perfection and love but a collection of experiences all calibrated into one sonic piece.

I like it a lot. I think it will grow on me.

 

Leave a Reply

